This year, Professor Dasgupta and two of his current students, Abhishek Nitin Deshpande and Hao Huang, and Professor McCluskey traveled to San Diego to attend the Intersociety Conference on Thermal and Thermomechanical Phenomena in Electronic Systems (ITherm), which was sponsored by the A. James Clark School of Engineering and the CALCE and S2TS labs at the University of Maryland.

During the event, Prof. Dasgupta?s students presented papers and posters. Hao Huang?s paper, Mechanical Response of Assemblies Bonded with Double-Layered Pressure-Sensitive Adhesives (PSAs), was a feature presentation, and Abhishek Nitin Deshpande presented A Joint-Scale Test Specimen for Tensile Properties of Solder Alloys?both students received travel grants from the Conference.

Profs. Dasgupta and McCluskey attended the Heterogeneous Integration/3D Chip Cooling session, as task force members, which explored advancements in 3D packaging and heterogeneous integration (HI) for silicon CMOS and RF devices and helped co-author the HI roadmap.

Also at the conference, Prof. McCluskey led the course Integrated Thermal Packaging and Reliability of Power Electronics. This course provided a review of active heat transfer techniques and prognostic health management (PHM) approaches to assess and ensure reliability. Following this review, Prof. McCluskey presented the latest developments in organic and flexible materials, packaging, assembly, and thermal management of power electronic modules, MEMS, and systems along with modeling and testing techniques. The course emphasized thermal packaging techniques capable of addressing performance limits and reliability concerns associated with increased power levels and power density in power electronic components.

Companies including Dupont, IBM, Intel, Huawei, Laird, and many others attended the conference.

Related Articles:
Khaligh, McCluskey to lead new $2.37M DOE solar power converter project
Khaligh, McCluskey receive Boeing funding for more electric aircraft
University of Maryland Sponsors ITHERM 2017 Conference
UMD Researchers Creating First Onboard Fast-Charging System for Electric Vehicles
Dasgupta, Fourney and Hwang Named ASME Fellows
Dasgupta Awarded Jeong H. Kim Professorship
Hwang Invited to Energy Editorial Board, Chairs ASME 2015 Conference and Delivers Keynote
Students Receive Support to Attend National SHPE Conference
Khaligh is PI for hybrid energy storage system NSF GOALI grant

June 5, 2018

«Previous Story  



Current Headlines

Public health planners: Free resources for emergency health clinics

Clark School Engineers Create Solutions for a Crisis

UMD Researchers to Publish Study on Polyelectrolyte Brushes

UMD Mechanical Engineering Among Top 20 Nationwide: US News

Brand Savior

Pride of Maryland Solar Car Returns to Roots at Maryland

Poppler James Named Chair Elect for ASEE’s Continuing Professional Development Division

Giving Spotlight: A Commitment to the American Dream

Srebric to Receive 2020 USM Board of Regents Faculty Award for Excellence in Innovation

Robert Briber Named Interim Dean of Clark School

Back to top  
AML Home Clark School Home UMD Home ENME Home