Congratulations to Mechanical Engineering Ph.D. candidate Leila Jannesari for earning the 2006-2007 Amelia Earhart International Award in recognition of and support for her aerospace engineering research. Leila Jannesari is advised by Professor Abijit Dasgupta. The focus of her research is the mechanics of materials - especially fatigue and damage properties of material used in electronic products.

The award is granted annually by the Zonta International Foundation to highly qualified women pursuing a Ph.D. or doctoral degree in aerospace related sciences and engineering. The award will be presented by the Zonta district of Mid Atlantic North America in August.

Zonta International is a global service organization of business and research professionals working together to advance the status of women all over the world. Nearly 33,000 members belong to more than 1,200 Zonta Clubs in 68 countries and geographic areas. As an international non-governmental organization (NGO), Zonta brings women's concerns to the United Nations, suggesting solutions and bringing public awareness to issues. Amelia Earhart Fellowships are made possible by contributions to the Zonta International Foundation Amelia Earhart Fellowships Fund.

Jannesari was also selected by the National Science Foundation (NSF) to represent the University of Maryland at the Workshop for the Advancement and Retention of Engineering Educators (WEE06) workshop. WEE06 is sponsored by the NSF Divisions of Civil and Mechanical Systems (CMS) and Bioengineering and Environmental Systems (BES) for the benefit of new faculties and post doctorates, encouraging the retention and advancement of engineering educators. Workshop sessions included proposal writing training, a panel on academic training issues, and technical tours of the Naval Surface Warfare Center, National Institute of Standards and Technology, and the National Institutes of Health.

In 2005 Jannesari was awarded the Charles Hutchins Educational Grant from the Surface Mount Technology Association (SMTA) and Circuits Assembly magazine for her project ?The Effect of Voids, Caused by Manufacturing Variation, on the Thermo-mechanical Durability of Lead-free Solders? on the electronic industry. This was the first time a student from Maryland had received this award. The award was presented at the 2005 SMTA International conference on September 28 in Rosemont, Illinois.

March 15, 2006

«Previous Story  



Current Headlines

Bio-Nose Technology: Conferring a Sense of Smell

Ashwani Gupta Named Royal Academy of Engineering Fellow

Maryland Engineering Ranks Among the Nation’s Top 20 Undergraduate Engineering Programs

UMD’s Gabriel Models Liberalized Energy Markets in Brazil

Graham Appointed to Navy Science and Technology Board

Yu Named Elkins Professor

Miao Yu to develop cost-effective sensor for measuring lake health

Dutt is PI on NSF-Funded Quantum Research Grant

Miao Yu receives NSF funding to develop ice-measuring sensors

Miao Yu selected as Wilson H. Elkins Professor

Back to top  
AML Home Clark School Home UMD Home ENME Home