UM President C.D. Mote, Jr. and Steven Hoffenson, a graduating senior in mechanical engineering.

UM President C.D. Mote, Jr. and Steven Hoffenson, a graduating senior in mechanical engineering.


The University of Maryland 26th Annual Awards Program, held on May 6th, honored Maryland?s outstanding scholar-leaders, including four students from the department of mechanical engineering. The event was hosted by the Stamp Student Union, Campus Programs, and Multicultural Involvement and Community Advocacy, featuring some of the University?s most prestigious awards.

Kyle Carson, Nyumburu Cultural Center James Otis Williams Cultural Leadership Award

Kyle is a junior majoring in Engineering, and is an integral member of the Student Government Association, the Nyumburu Leadership Series, Black Male Initiative Program, the Prison to College Pipeline Program, and a tutor for young students from Prince George?s County High Schools. Kyle?s award reflects the service of James Otis Williams, who served the University for 26 years, serving as the Director of the Nyumburu Cultural Center for 25 years. Williams touched the lives of thousands of students, faculty, and staff, as a professional and friend during his long tenure at Maryland. The James Otis Williams Cultural Leadership Award recognizes a student who has demonstrated outstanding leadership, dedication to cultural awareness, and a commitment to higher education for students of the African Diaspora.

Alexander Perry, Lorde-O?Leary Award

Alex is graduating as a mechanical engineering major and is a member of the Pride Alliance, TransU, and the Speaker?s Bureau on campus. He has worked tirelessly to help increase support structures for Transgender students on campus as well as to educated the broader campus community about this population. The Lorde-O'Leary Award, named after writer/activist Audre Lorde and the late University of Maryland Professor Ron O'Leary, is presented to the senior student who has contributed most significantly to the advancement of the Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender student community at Maryland and the general interest of the University.

Steven Hoffenson and Sam Hollenbach were both inducted into the Maryland Medallion Society by President Mote as finalists for two prestigious university-wide awards, the Byrd Citizenship Prize and the Wilson H. Elkins Award. The Byrd Citizenship Prizes and Wilson H. Elkins Award are selected from the same applicant pool. Individuals who nominate candidates for either of these awards will enter them into the pool for both. The Byrd Citizenship Prizes are presented as a memorial to the late President Emeritus H.C. Byrd and Sally Sterling Byrd, to the male and female member of the senior class who during their collegiate careers have most nearly typified the model citizen and have contributed significantly to the general advancement of the interests of the University. The Wilson H. Elkins Award is presented to a senior who has displayed outstanding involvement and leadership in campus activities and who has contributed significantly to the general advancement of student affairs.

Steven Hoffenson, Maryland Medallion Society and Byrd/Elkins Finalist

Steven is a Mechanical Engineering major from Marietta, Georgia, who will be a commencement speaker at the Clark School graduation ceremony on May 21 at 10 a.m. in Cole Student Activities Building. He has served as co-facilitator of his IMPACT Gemstone Team and a Section leader in GEMS 100 and 104. Steven has also served as the Treasurer and in other officer positions with Zeta Psi fraternity. He was a team captain for the Relay for Life and is a member of Order of Omega, Golden Key, and Tau Beta Pi, and he is an officer in Omnicron Delta Kappa and President of the Mortar Board.

Samuel Hollenbach, Maryland Medallion Society and Byrd/Elkins Finalist

Sam is a Mechanical Engineering major from Sellersville, Pennsylvania. He has played quarterback for the University of Maryland Terrapin Football Team and has served as a member of the leadership team of the Fellowship of Christian Athletes. He has been selected as All-Atlantic Coast Conference Football and as Most Valuable Player in the 2006 Champs Bowl. Sam is also a member of Navigators and volunteers extensively.

May 10, 2007

«Previous Story  



Current Headlines

New Tool Predicts Rogue Waves Up to Five Minutes in Advance

Donor Spotlight: Bobby Srour and Jeanne Grillo

Maryland Engineering: Top 10 Among Public Graduate Programs, Six Years Running

Forty years of MEMS research at the Hilton Head Workshop

McGregor: Harnessing the Potential of Additive Manufacturing

AquatiClaw Grabs Departmental Award at Capstone Expo

Boyce Highlights Promise of Soft Composites

Betelhiem Mengesha Receives NSF Graduate Fellowship

CEEE Co-Director Vikrant Aute Honored With Faculty Award

UMD Staff Are the Students in a “Cool” New CEEE-Led Training

Back to top  
AML Home Clark School Home UMD Home ENME Home