ME "Chair's Award" winner Stephanie Karpovitch


The Mechanical Engineering department came together last month to recognize student recipients of awards, scholarships and fellowships from the past year. The awards reception grew out of a smaller annual event held in the past by Professor Mohammed Modarres for his reliability engineering students.

?It was about the students, and from talking to the students, it seemed it went well,? said graduate studies coordinator Fitz Walker, who helped put the program together this year. ?I think it?s important for students to be recognized in front of their peers like this.?

Students and faculty gathered at Riggs Alumni Center for a catered luncheon. Award recipients received a round of applause as professors and students alike recognized them for their achievements.

Felicia Stephenson, the coordinator of faculty affairs, played a major role in organizing the ceremony. Stephenson, who took on the task of meshing department, Clark School and university awards all into one event, proclaimed the luncheon a success for the department?s best and brightest.

?I had a good time and I didn?t even win anything,? exclaimed one student.

For the complete list of student award winners, click on this link:

June 9, 2008

«Previous Story  



?I had a good time and I didn?t even win anything.?

ME student award nominee

Current Headlines

Bio-Nose Technology: Conferring a Sense of Smell

Ashwani Gupta Named Royal Academy of Engineering Fellow

Maryland Engineering Ranks Among the Nation’s Top 20 Undergraduate Engineering Programs

UMD’s Gabriel Models Liberalized Energy Markets in Brazil

Graham Appointed to Navy Science and Technology Board

Yu Named Elkins Professor

Miao Yu to develop cost-effective sensor for measuring lake health

Dutt is PI on NSF-Funded Quantum Research Grant

Miao Yu receives NSF funding to develop ice-measuring sensors

Miao Yu selected as Wilson H. Elkins Professor

Back to top  
AML Home Clark School Home UMD Home ENME Home