Congratulations Class of 2010!

On Friday, May 21 the Clark School?s spring 2010 Commencement was held at the Comcast Center amid celebratory cheers and best wishes from friends, family, faculty and staff. The ceremonial included graduates from fall 2009 who were not able to participate in the deferred December ceremony as a result of inclement weather.

Delivering the commencement speech was Aerospace Corporation president and CEO, Wanda Austin, who spoke in ?Twitter format? about her top 10 pieces of advice to the recent graduates, with numbers one and ten both being, ?get a job.? Austin also advised graduates to ?listen more than you speak,? guidance that Austin said she has found invaluable in the workforce.

The student commencement speech was given by undergraduate bioengineering major Allon Meizlik, who reminisced about the trials and tribulations of the ENES100 (Introduction to Engineering Design) hovercraft project and the lessons that it taught him, including the meaning of success, which didn't always include building something that worked. Meizlik concluded his speech succinctly, remarking, "The past four years have been amazing. I've made great friends inside and outside of the classroom and have learned a lot about engineering along the way. I was honored to speak at Commencement and be able to share the excitement of the day with all of our family and friends. Now, it's time to celebrate!"

During the ceremony, the Clark school also announced the recipients of both the fall 2009 and the spring 2010 awards. The 2009 recipients included Min Wu, associate professor in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering who received the E. Robert Kent Outstanding Teaching Award for Junior Faculty in recognition of her excellence in teaching. Teresa Moore, director of operations for the Clark School's Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, received the 2009 Staff Service Award for outstanding service to her department, the Clark School, and the University.

Award recipients for 2010 were Adrian Papamarcou, associate professor in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, recognized for his excellence in teaching by the 2010 Poole and Kent Teaching Award for Senior Faculty. Professor Norman Wereley of the Department of Aerospace Engineering received the 2010 Faculty Service Award for exemplary service to his department, the Clark School, and the University. All award recipients received a plaque in recognition of their achievements.

After parting remarks from Clark School Dean, Dr. Darryll Pines, the commencement ceremony was followed by a reception in the Kim Engineering Building Plaza for graduates and their families. Mechanical engineering graduates received business card holders as gifts from the department.

Please visit the photo gallery.

Related Articles:
Congratulations to the Class of 2021

June 10, 2010

«Previous Story  



Current Headlines

Donor Spotlight: Bobby Srour and Jeanne Grillo

Maryland Engineering: Top 10 Among Public Graduate Programs, Six Years Running

Forty years of MEMS research at the Hilton Head Workshop

McGregor: Harnessing the Potential of Additive Manufacturing

AquatiClaw Grabs Departmental Award at Capstone Expo

Boyce Highlights Promise of Soft Composites

Betelhiem Mengesha Receives NSF Graduate Fellowship

CEEE Co-Director Vikrant Aute Honored With Faculty Award

UMD Staff Are the Students in a “Cool” New CEEE-Led Training

University of Maryland Has Strong Presence at ICRA 2024

Back to top  
AML Home Clark School Home UMD Home ENME Home