The Department of Mechanical Engineering congratulates ME alumna Jaemi Lee Herzberger and current ME graduate student Alex Scammell for receiving 2011 NASA Space Technology Research Fellowships. As recipients of Space Technology Research Fellowships, Herzberger and Scammell will receive a stipend ($36,000 for doctoral students and $30,000 for master’s students) and $30,000 to offset tuition and fees. They will also have the opportunity to perform graduate-level research at NASA centers and nonprofit U.S. research and development laboratories. The fellowship is initially offered for one year, but may be renewed for up to one additional year for master’s students and up to three additional years for doctoral students. The NASA Space Technology Research Fellowship will be instrumental in aiding Herzberger and Scammell as they conduct their respective research. Herzberger will be researching “Next-generation Electronic Systems for Innovative New Space Technologies and for the Nation's Science, Exploration and Economic Future,” while Scammell will investigate “Fundamentals of Gravity and Tube Size Effects on Flow Boiling Heat Transfer.” Herzberger and Scammell join 79 other Space Technology Fellows from over a dozen of the nation’s top engineering and technology programs as members of the Space Technology Fellowship inaugural class. They are also two of six fellows representing the Clark School, which has the third highest number of fellows behind MIT and Georgia Tech. NASA Space Technology Research Fellowships are awarded by NASA's Office of the Chief Technologist and are part of NASA's strategy to develop the technological foundation for future science and exploration missions. The program's goal is to provide the nation with a pipeline of highly-skilled engineers and technologists to improve the United States’ ability to compete in the global arena. NASA Space Technology Fellows will perform innovative space technology research while building the skills necessary to become future technological leaders. Commenting on the importance of the Space Technology Research Fellowships, NASA Administrator Charles Bolden states, “These fellowships will develop America's technology leaders for tomorrow, leaders that will help us out-innovate, out-educate and out-build our competitors and maintain our leadership in space…These grants are an investment in America's intellectual capital and our nation's future.” For a list of fellowship recipients, participating research institutions, and research topics, visit: Portions of text courtesy of NASA.

Related Articles:
NASA Recognizes Six Clark School Fellows

August 23, 2011

«Previous Story  



Current Headlines

Bio-Nose Technology: Conferring a Sense of Smell

Ashwani Gupta Named Royal Academy of Engineering Fellow

Maryland Engineering Ranks Among the Nation’s Top 20 Undergraduate Engineering Programs

UMD’s Gabriel Models Liberalized Energy Markets in Brazil

Graham Appointed to Navy Science and Technology Board

Yu Named Elkins Professor

Miao Yu to develop cost-effective sensor for measuring lake health

Dutt is PI on NSF-Funded Quantum Research Grant

Miao Yu receives NSF funding to develop ice-measuring sensors

Miao Yu selected as Wilson H. Elkins Professor

Back to top  
AML Home Clark School Home UMD Home ENME Home