Pictured left to right are Zohreh Ghotbani, Raphael Mandel, Amir Kashani Pour, Zhijian Zhang. Not pictured: Ryan Rudy, Zhu Shuze

Pictured left to right are Zohreh Ghotbani, Raphael Mandel, Amir Kashani Pour, Zhijian Zhang. Not pictured: Ryan Rudy, Zhu Shuze


Six mechanical engineering doctoral students have been selected as 2013 Future Faculty Leaders, the largest cohort in a single department in the Clark School this year.

The program was created in 2007 to increase the number of teachers the Clark School produces by providing students with guidance and support for success in academia. Students enroll in three different one-credit seminars that teach them the skills necessary to obtain a faculty, techniques to engage students, and how to conduct research as a professor.

Students also obtain hands-on experience by co-teaching a course under the supervision of their faculty advisor. Associate Dean Peter Kofinas, who oversees the program, said that the students gain more from this teaching experience than they would as a teaching assistant.

“You don’t get the same type of feedback from an instructor as you get in this program,” Kofinas said.
The students also mentor a less experienced graduate student or undergraduate student with a research project. 

All Future Faculty Fellows will receive $3,000 for travel expenses to present their own research at conferences to not only network with participants, but to become more confident in presenting research at a professional level.
The 2013 awardees and their advisors are:
* Zohreh Ghorbani , advisor Arnaud Trouve
* Raphael Mandel, advisor Michael Ohadi
* Amir Kashani Pour, advisor Peter Sandborn
* Ryan Rudy, advisor Don DeVoe
* Zhu Shuze, advisor Teng Li
* Zhijian Zhang, advisor Miao Yu
For more information about the program, including how to apply, visit the Future Faculty Program website.

Related Articles:
Miao Yu honored with USM Regents Faculty Award
Yu Named ASME Fellow
Miao Yu named Maryland Robotics Center director
Sandborn Awarded ASME Kos Ishii-Toshiba Award
University of Maryland Sponsors ITHERM 2017 Conference
Sandborn Publishes Second Edition of Cost Analysis of Electronic Systems
UMD Researchers Use a Simple Stretch to Create Powerful Pseudomagnetic Fields in Graphene
Li Awarded Society of Engineering Science Young Investigator Medal
Ohadi Receives ASHRAE E.K. Campbell Award of Merit
New AFOSR NIFTI Center features eight Clark School faculty

February 22, 2013

«Previous Story  



Current Headlines

Revolutionizing Water Access: Aquair Wins 2023 R&D 100 Award

UMD Hosts Industrial AI Forum

Diving Deeper into Competition, and Recruitment

“The Legend of Zelda” Inspires New UMD Engineering Course

Sandborn Receives Scott Clements Award

Celebrating Native and Indigenous Voices in Engineering

We Build the Future Here: Stanley R. Zupnik Hall

Clark School Students Selected for Philip Merrill Scholarships

Funding Renewed for Research on Ventilator Alternative

Alumnus Receives National Medal of Technology and Innovation

Back to top  
AML Home Clark School Home UMD Home ENME Home