Professor Abhijit Dasgupta

Professor Abhijit Dasgupta


Months after winning the 2010 IEEE & AIAA Evans/McElroy Best Paper Award, Professor Abhijit Dasgupta garnered further acclaim for his influential research in micromechanics by receiving the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) Electronic and Photonic Packaging Division?s (EPPD) Mechanics Award in November 2010. Dasgupta was presented with the award at the 2010 International Mechanical Engineering Congress & Exposition (IMECE) in recognition of his numerous contributions to electronics packaging and reliability research, including the development of solution techniques and micromechanics approaches for electronics packaging and composites. The annual Mechanics Award recognizes excellence in the engineering and science of Structural Mechanics for electronic systems, with winners selected by members of the ASME EPPD Awards Committee.

A graduate of the University of Illinois (PhD, Theoretical & Applied Mechanics), Dasgupta has been a Professor of Mechanical Engineering at the Clark School since 1988. In his time with ME, Dasgupta has continued his career-spanning research on the mechanics of engineered, heterogeneous, active materials, with special emphasis on the micromechanics of constitutive and damage behavior, and has established a number of significant education programs and research centers through the Clark School and ME?s Center for Advanced Life Cycle Engineering (CALCE), including the CALCE Electronic Packaging Research Center (1990), the Electronic Packaging and Reliability (EPAR) education program (1994), and the Smart Materials & Structures Research Center (1996).

Dasgupta is a member of the SEM, AAM, SAMPE, SPIE and the ASME, where he has served on numerous committees, including the Composites Committee of the Materials Division (1992-present), Adaptive Structures Committee of the Aerospace Division (1995-present), and the Electronics Manufacturing Committee of the Electronics Packaging Division (1996-present). He is also a sought-after presenter, consultant, editor, and author with over 150 journal articles and conference papers, 9 book chapters and 3 completed volumes to his credit. He has presented over 20 short workshops nationally and internationally, served on the editorial boards of three different international journals, organized several national and international conferences, and received a number of awards for his contributions in materials engineering research and education, including the Maurice Stimpson Technical Editor's Award (1990), UMD Special Faculty Award (?90 & ?91), ARL Director?s Award (1996), and the Institute for Environmental Sciences Reliability Test and Evaluation Award (1996) and the IEEE & AIAA Evans/McElroy Best Paper Award (2010).

Currently, Dasgupta continues his faculty responsibilities with CALCE and ME, where he leads undergraduate and graduate courses in a range of critical engineering topics, including Engineering Dynamics (ENME 201), Finite Element Methods (ENME 470) and Accelerated Qualification of Electronic Systems (ENME 808X).

For more information on Professor Dasgupta, please visit his faculty page.

Related Articles:
Abdullah A. Al-Abdulkarem Receives Honorable Mention for Poster
Sharon Awarded Newport Spectra-Physics Research Excellence Travel Grant
ASME Welcomes Shapour Azarm as Faculty Advisor
Michael Pecht, UM Establish Relationship with the Chinese Research Community
Michael Pecht Elected to SAE Fellow
Wang Receives ASME Award
CALCE Receives 2009 Systems Engineering Excellence Group Award from NDIA
Pines Elected Fellow of ASME
ASME Chapter Hosts Annual Leadership Seminar
Dr. Sandborn Promoted to Full Professor

January 7, 2011

«Previous Story  



Current Headlines

Bio-Nose Technology: Conferring a Sense of Smell

Ashwani Gupta Named Royal Academy of Engineering Fellow

Maryland Engineering Ranks Among the Nation’s Top 20 Undergraduate Engineering Programs

UMD’s Gabriel Models Liberalized Energy Markets in Brazil

Graham Appointed to Navy Science and Technology Board

Yu Named Elkins Professor

Miao Yu to develop cost-effective sensor for measuring lake health

Dutt is PI on NSF-Funded Quantum Research Grant

Miao Yu receives NSF funding to develop ice-measuring sensors

Miao Yu selected as Wilson H. Elkins Professor

Back to top  
AML Home Clark School Home UMD Home ENME Home