Dr. Reinhard RadermacherMinta Martin Professor of Engineering &Director, CEEE

Dr. Reinhard Radermacher
Minta Martin Professor of Engineering &
Director, CEEE


Minta Martin Professor and Director of the Center for Environmental Energy Engineering (CEEE) Reinhard Radermacher will receive the University of Maryland’s Distinguished International Service Award at the International Awards Ceremony on November 14 at Stamp Student Union.  For more than 20 years the Office of International Programs has honored faculty or staff who have a distinguished international career and has made at least one significant contribution to the development of international institutional programs for the university.

As director of CEEE, Radermacher has won sponsorships from companies throughout Asia, Europe, and South America which have resulted in $24 million in research support, 11 patents, and more than 300 peer-reviewed and conference publications.  He is a guest professor at Shanghai Jiao Tong University and conducts research projects with the university along with the University of Trento, Italy.  He has also conducted joint research projects with the Petroleum Institute in Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates, which has a long-term cooperative agreement with the university.

Radermacher has led an international exchange program for the A. James Clark School of Engineering for over 20 years.  This program initially brought students from Radermacher’s native Germany to the Clark School, but has since expanded to include interns from colleges in Brazil, China, and France.  The program has become so popular that the Department of Mechanical Engineering has become one of the leading sponsors of interns on campus.

Radermacher is not the first in the department to receive the award.  Previously, Professor Michael Pecht received the honor in 2006. 

Related Articles:
Ashwani Gupta Named Royal Academy of Engineering Fellow
Hayes Takes Second in Northrup Grumman AI Challenge
Graduate Student Receives STLE Scholarship
Dean Briber Honors Faculty with Research, Teaching Awards
Li Member of UMD Invention of the Year Award Winning Team
Clark School Faculty Team Wins a UMD Invention of the Year Award
Ohadi Honored with ASHRAE Exceptional Service Award
Radermacher Leads Roadmapping Worskhop on Advanced Cooling Technologies for EPRI
CEEE Establishes New FuelWorks Research Consortium
ME Wins Big at 2011 UMD/GRID

October 23, 2012

«Previous Story  



Current Headlines

Revolutionizing Water Access: Aquair Wins 2023 R&D 100 Award

UMD Hosts Industrial AI Forum

Diving Deeper into Competition, and Recruitment

“The Legend of Zelda” Inspires New UMD Engineering Course

Sandborn Receives Scott Clements Award

Celebrating Native and Indigenous Voices in Engineering

We Build the Future Here: Stanley R. Zupnik Hall

Clark School Students Selected for Philip Merrill Scholarships

Funding Renewed for Research on Ventilator Alternative

Alumnus Receives National Medal of Technology and Innovation

Back to top  
AML Home Clark School Home UMD Home ENME Home