(L-R) Drs. Benjamin Shapiro, Jaydev P. Desai and Thomas Murphy.

(L-R) Drs. Benjamin Shapiro, Jaydev P. Desai and Thomas Murphy.


Three faculty in the A. James Clark School of Engineering were promoted to the rank of full professor:

Dr. Jaydev P. Desai
, Department of Mechanical Engineering (ME), joined the faculty at the Clark School in 2006. He studies medical robotics, haptic interfaces for robot-assisted surgery, surgical simulation, model-based teleoperation, and cellular surgery. Dr. Desai is also the director of the Robotics, Automation, and Medical Systems (RAMS) laboratory.

Dr. Thomas E. Murphy, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering (ECE), joined the Clark School faculty as an assistant professor in August 2012. His research interests include nonlinear optics, optical communications, nonlinear dynamics, microwave photonics and terahertz technology. In addition to his role of ECE professor, Dr. Murphy serves as the director of the Institute for Research in Engineering and Applied Physics (IREAP) at the University of Maryland.

Dr. Benjamin Shapiro, Fischell Department of Bioengineering (BioE) and Institute for Systems Research (ISR), joined the faculty at the Clark School in 2003. His research focuses on all aspects of miniaturized-system control, from initial determination of the dominant physics, to model development, control problem statement and algorithm design, to experimental verification.

For more information about the professors' research, please visit their websites:

Dr. Desai:
Dr. Murphy:
Dr. Shapiro:

June 5, 2013

«Previous Story  



Current Headlines

UMD Welcomes A. James Clark Scholars Class of ’25

Clark School to Induct Reyes into Innovation Hall of Fame

Engineering at Maryland magazine introduces new leader, new look

Sochol Receives Early Career Award from the Journal of Micromechanics and Microengineering

Boundless Curiosity

You Can Make It at Maryland

Assessing Nuclear Risk: CEE, ME Faculty Collaborate on New Tools

Wood That Can Cut Like Steel, Be Molded Like Plastic or Build Batteries?

Cutting Edge

Das publishes new work in ACS Nano

Back to top  
AML Home Clark School Home UMD Home ENME Home