ME Undergraduate Advisor Terry Island & ME Graduate

ME Undergraduate Advisor Terry Island & ME Graduate


The Clark School's spring 2009 commencement took place on Friday, May 22 at 9 am in the Comcast Center.

Inventor of the Hyperdrive powertrain system and mechanical engineering Visiting Professor Alex Severinsky delivered the commencement speech. Delivering the student commencement speech was mechanical engineering major Phillip Hannam.

The student speaker, Phillip Hannam, encouraged fellow graduates to communicate with people of different backgrounds, joking "We NEED to be able to communicate with those pesky businessmen, Greek mythologists, biologists, architects, artists, economists, mathematicians, politicians, statisticians, teachers and ecologists." Hannam concluded the speech eloquently, with his final thoughts being, "But it is our responsibility, it is our curse, it is our challenge; to fight regardless, as we push the technical boundaries of engineering and the social boundaries of all that engineers can accomplish as leaders of thought in a new world of need." The complete version of his speech can be seen here.

The Clark School also announced the recipients of the Poole & Kent Teaching Award for Senior Faculty and the Faculty Service Award at the ceremony. Mechanical engineering professors Kenneth Kiger and Peter Sandborn both received Pool & Kent Teaching Awards, which is given to senior faculty members for excellence in teaching. Professor Alison Flatau of Aerospace Engineering was the winner of the Faculty Service Award.

After the ceremony, graduates and families attended a reception outside the Jeong H. Kim Engineering Building. Light refreshments were served as everyone mingled and celebrated the day. Mechanical engineering graduates received business card holders as gifts from the department.

Congratulations Class of 2009!

The Department of Mechanical Engineering wishes everyone good luck in their future endeavors.

--Lauren Frye ?10, Mechanical Engineering Student Reporter

Related Articles:
Five Elevated to Full Professor
UMD Selected for $3.5M ARPA-E COOLERCHIPS Award
Sean and Sarah Durbin Endowed Scholarship: Terps Give to Promote Global Opportunities
The Marvin Roush Fellowship: A Foundation for Progress in Risk and Reliability
Paying It Forward with Double the Impact
A Game-Changing Education
Alumnus John Berger (M.S. ME ’85, Ph.D. ME ’90) Promoted to Senior Associate Provost at Colorado School of Mines
Adapt and Move Forward
Professor Marino di Marzo Retires
Alumnus Tom Hicks Welcomed to Arctaris Impact Board of Advisors

June 9, 2009

«Previous Story  



"[I]t is our challenge; to fight regardless, as we push the technical boundaries of engineering and the social boundaries of all that engineers can accomplish...."

Phillip Hannam, Mechanical Engineering Graduating Senior

Current Headlines

New Tool Predicts Rogue Waves Up to Five Minutes in Advance

Donor Spotlight: Bobby Srour and Jeanne Grillo

Maryland Engineering: Top 10 Among Public Graduate Programs, Six Years Running

Forty years of MEMS research at the Hilton Head Workshop

McGregor: Harnessing the Potential of Additive Manufacturing

AquatiClaw Grabs Departmental Award at Capstone Expo

Boyce Highlights Promise of Soft Composites

Betelhiem Mengesha Receives NSF Graduate Fellowship

CEEE Co-Director Vikrant Aute Honored With Faculty Award

UMD Staff Are the Students in a “Cool” New CEEE-Led Training

Back to top  
AML Home Clark School Home UMD Home ENME Home